This site uses cookies.
Some of these cookies are essential to the operation of the site,
while others help to improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.
For more information, please see the ProZ.com privacy policy.
VIA AILooking for an interpreter?
Remoto by ProZ.com connects you with an identity-verified interpreter by video or phone in about 60 seconds — 300+ languages, on demand or booked ahead.
Try Remoto »
dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?
Thread poster: Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen Denmark Local time: 13:55 Member (2010) English to Norwegian (Bokmal) + ...
Oct 1
I have received a job offer from the agency dokupartner (http://www.dokupartner.de) for a 22,000 word manual, but I don't find them registered on ProZ, and no entres on Blue Board. Is there anyone who has been in touch with them and know if they are a serious agency or if this may be a case of fraud?
Their contact person is Cristina Schmidt.
[Edited at 2026-10-01 09:35 GMT]
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Lieven Malaise Belgium Local time: 13:55 Member (2020) French to Dutch + ...
Depends
Oct 1
The website "www.dokupartner.de" seems to be legit. But there's also "www.dokupartner.online" and that's probably a scam website, at least according to Gemini.
What email address did they use?
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Roy Oestensen Denmark Local time: 13:55 Member (2010) English to Norwegian (Bokmal) + ...
TOPIC STARTER
email seems legit
Oct 1
Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld
A 22,000-word project as your first job for an agency you’ve never worked with before? It really does sound like a scam. I did a search using the name of your contact and the agency’s name, and it came up with zero answers. If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…
And yet
Website: OK
Address: OK
Telephone: OK
Email: OK
Maybe it's legit...
[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]
expressisverbis
Thayenga
Zea_Mays
Véronique Vanseveren
Philip Lees
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Roy Oestensen Denmark Local time: 13:55 Member (2010) English to Norwegian (Bokmal) + ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks
Oct 1
Thank you for the suggestion.
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Thayenga Germany Local time: 13:55 Member (2009) English to German + ...
Always check
Oct 1
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida wrote:
If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…
[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]
When you're in doubt, just follow 'Teresa's advice. This is what I have been doing when in doubt. Sometimes the person does work there, sometime s/he doesn't. Better safe than sorry.
Roy Oestensen
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Gregor Trebec Slovenia Local time: 13:55 English to Slovenian + ...
when in doubt, C4
Oct 1
It looks legit. She is using company's email. BUT 20.000 words as first assignement sounds realy strange, if not desperate.
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Joakim Braun Sweden Local time: 13:55 German to Swedish + ...
Phone
Oct 1
The old-fashioned way to confirm someone's identity is to phone them via the company switchboard or a phone number provided on the company's website (NOT whatever is given in the e-mail).
The company can still turn out to be a non-payer, but a lot of obvious scams are filtered out.
And look up the company financials - they will be published somewhere.
I'd definitely do both if 22,000 words from a new client are involved.
Daryo
Zea_Mays
expressisverbis
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
Frank Zou China Local time: 19:55 Member (2016) English to Chinese + ...
Ask for prepayment
01:24
My suggestion is to ask for prepayment and staged payments as you submit parts of the translation. That way, you can be somewhat sure it's not a scam — especially if they're willing to pay in advance.
Joakim Braun
Gregor Trebec
Subject:
Comment:
The contents of this post will automatically be included in the ticket generated. Please add any additional comments or explanation (optional)
The underlying LLM technology of LinguaCore offers AI translations of unprecedented quality. Quick and simple. Add a human linguistic review at the end for expert-level quality at a fraction of the cost and time.
Exclusive discount for ProZ.com users!
Save over 13% when purchasing Wordfast Pro through ProZ.com. Wordfast is the world's #1 provider of platform-independent Translation Memory software. Consistently ranked the most user-friendly and highest value