MA/ career advice
Thread poster: Goshhaa
Jun 25, 2012

Hello everyone!

I've read through a lot of the posts here and found a lot of useful information. I just want to get some advice from those of you working in the interpreting field about which study route I should take.

I'm Polish and my B language is English. I have a degree in an unrelated field. I have been teaching English for 3 years and I'm considering a career move into interpreting/translating. I am definitely more interested in interpreting but I'm not entirely
... See more
Hello everyone!

I've read through a lot of the posts here and found a lot of useful information. I just want to get some advice from those of you working in the interpreting field about which study route I should take.

I'm Polish and my B language is English. I have a degree in an unrelated field. I have been teaching English for 3 years and I'm considering a career move into interpreting/translating. I am definitely more interested in interpreting but I'm not entirely sure whether I have the aptitude for it as I've never worked in this field before. I was thinking of doing an MA in Translation and Interpreting (e.g. University of Westminster) which would give me a qualification in both areas and allow me to see which area most suits/interests me, but it may leave me underqualified for an interpreting career (i.e. there's no simultaneous interpreting module on this course). This is my dilemma - can anybody advise me on this?

Any general advice on translation/interpreting MAs in London would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Goshhaa.
Collapse

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 05:06
Chinese to English
If you want to interpret, training would be a massive help Jun 26, 2012