Carlos A R de Souza
Carlos A R de Souza  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 17:07
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Dec 15, 2014

Hi, everyone. How are you doing?

I've been working as a translator for 2 years now translating from English to Brazilian Portuguese. While I trust my own skills, but I'm a bit shy and I have trouble finding the pitch to market myself. Can you guys give me some tips on how to reach clients more effectively? How to talk their language in business?

Thank you in advance!

[Edited at 2014-12-15 15:25 GMT]

Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
Perhaps these books will help Dec 15, 2014

Marketing Cookbook for Translators: Foolproof recipes for a successful freelance career:
http://amzn.to/1yUfnxo

The Book of Standing Out: Travels through the Inner World of Freelance Translation:
http://amzn.to/1zfGeCM

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:07
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
A big subject for a post Dec 15, 2014

Carlos A R de Souza wrote:
I've been working as a translator for 2 years now translating from English to Brazilian Portuguese. While I trust my own skills, but I'm a bit shy and I have trouble finding the pitch to market myself. Can you guys give me some tips on how to reach clients more effectively? How to talk their language in business?

I can't personally think of too much in the way of one-liners that would help. I think a training course is really what you want. One link that might point you to what you need to know is this one: http://wantwords.co.uk/school/
Marta Stelmaszak gives training in person at ProZ.com conferences and she certainly speaks a lot of sense. I'm not sure exactly what's available on her website, but I'm sure it'll be worth a look.