Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Off topic: Are you tired of translation?
Thread poster: Jing Nie
Jing Nie
Jing Nie
China
Local time: 18:32
Member (2011)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Dec 28, 2011

I think I am an experienced translator. Just recently, I bought Proz formal membership for 2 yrs after being on Proz since 2004.

And I think I know a lot about translation business. And I always trying to keep up with the newest development in this field. I have some direct clients and several long-term cooperated translation agencies in USA.

But just a few days ago, I felt that I am totally tired of it after completing a very big project. With the increasing of my c
... See more
I think I am an experienced translator. Just recently, I bought Proz formal membership for 2 yrs after being on Proz since 2004.

And I think I know a lot about translation business. And I always trying to keep up with the newest development in this field. I have some direct clients and several long-term cooperated translation agencies in USA.

But just a few days ago, I felt that I am totally tired of it after completing a very big project. With the increasing of my clients, I have to spend more time everyday on translation, talking with clients on the phone, sending invoices, dealing with all kinds of problem my clients can not solve.

I felt that I am more like a machine than a human, working everyday even at weekends. Answering phone calls in the same way, repeat the same words to different people.

And I understand I can not relax, if I travelling for 1 month, my client will not find me and they will hire other people. That is the sadness of being a freelancer, more successful you are, you have to work more hours each day, you just can not stop.

But I am really tired of working everyday, and even think if one day I sleep and never wake up will be a happy ending for me.
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 17:32
English to Thai
+ ...