Marina Steinbach
Marina Steinbach
United States
Local time: 10:57
Member (2011)
English to German
Aug 23, 2011

Dear Colleagues,

Could somebody please explain to me, why people are sending me e-mails with “Cheers”, “Bests” and “Best” as salutation?

Ok, I might be a little old-fashioned. But, if I read “cheers”, then I immediately think of booze and happy hours…

Best regards,

Marina

Yasutomo Kanazawa
Yasutomo Kanazawa  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 23:57
Member (2005)
English to Japanese
+ ...
Then your reply should be Aug 23, 2011

Zum Wohl! at the end of your email.

David Wright
David Wright  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 16:57
German to English
+ ...
Goes backa long way Aug 23, 2011

when I was a student in the UK in the 1960s, cheers was definitely a very common salutation and also a replacement for thanks.

Bests sounds absurd.

matt robinson
matt robinson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Natural Aug 23, 2011

As David said, cheers is a common salutation substituting bye or thanks, or both (in British English, anyway).
I used it in an email only yesterday (and have used it all my life) and I'm no spring chicken!

Cheers.

The more recent trend to make adjectives plural and use them as nouns (bests, simples, etc.) strikes me as little short of barbaric!

Oh, and I don't like TIA either!

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:57
Hebrew to English
Normal usage Aug 23, 2011

I agree with the last two guys.

I hear "cheers" more often that "thanks" nowadays, although I prefer its usage in the spoken language, I don't personally transfer it to my written output. But times are changin'.

I also agree that "bests" just sounds uneducated...and well, wrong.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
The one I really can't stand is..... Aug 23, 2011

..."have a nice day".