Thread poster: Gregory Lassale
Gregory Lassale
Gregory Lassale  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:00
English to French
May 24, 2020

Hello,

I have already posted a thread about this in a different forum but wanted to post here as well as I have since then done research and have many more questions.

www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/343784-moving_and_taking_your_business_overseas.html

My situation in a nutshell:

... See more
Hello,

I have already posted a thread about this in a different forum but wanted to post here as well as I have since then done research and have many more questions.

www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/343784-moving_and_taking_your_business_overseas.html

My situation in a nutshell:

- I am considering moving from the US to Spain for 2 years.
- I am a French national and can legally work in the EU, so no problem there.
- I have been doing part time translation work in the US for the past 3 years as a DBA (Doing Business As) business entity and I file taxes under my own name.
- All my clients are located in north America, the largest being a translation agency in Canada.
- The yearly income I derive from those jobs is around 10K-15K.
- As a US freelancer, I do not charge sales tax to my invoices.
- I would deposit any money made from freelancing while in Spain in a Spanish bank account.
- My spouse and I are not necessarily looking to benefit from the Spanish social security i.e. we would plan to pay for private health insurance while over there if need be.

My questions:

1. If I'm not mistaken, a couple of options in Spain are either to register as an autónomo or as a Limited Company, correct? Is there any other way to do business for a freelance translator over there?

2. Autónomos have to be registered with the Agencia Tributaria and have to pay a monthly fee (around 275 euros from what I can tell) whether or not they derive any income from their activity - correct?