Pedro Álvares
Pedro Álvares  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 09:23
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 2, 2019

Hello,

i hope i am posting something adequate in this thread. If not, please, let me know where it should go to.

I am just starting out in translation, EN - PT (European), and, as an exercise, i decided to translate the header of an article about an art fair. I am simply looking for some feedback on my choices. Any different/better suggestions are also welcome!

The article's purpose is to publicize an upcoming art fair dedicated to drawing that is taking pl
... See more
Hello,

i hope i am posting something adequate in this thread. If not, please, let me know where it should go to.

I am just starting out in translation, EN - PT (European), and, as an exercise, i decided to translate the header of an article about an art fair. I am simply looking for some feedback on my choices. Any different/better suggestions are also welcome!

The article's purpose is to publicize an upcoming art fair dedicated to drawing that is taking place in the UK. It is meant to spark curiosity and entice people to attend the fair.

(original text):
"Make your Mark: The Enduring Joy of Drawing [headline]. From the Lascaux caves to the notepad doodle, we have always been drawn to draw. On the eve of the UK's first art fair dedicated to drawing, we celebrate the freest and first of all art forms..."

(my translation):
"Deixa a tua marca: a alegria perene em desenhar
Desde as cavernas de Lascaux ao doodle de um notepad que o nosso percurso na arte do desenho parecia traçado. Na véspera da primeira feira de arte no Reino Unido exclusivamente dedicada ao desenho, celebramos aqui a primeira, e mais livre, de todas as formas de arte..."

Thank you!
Collapse

Natalia Pedrosa

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 08:23
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Pedro May 4, 2019