Monica Paolillo
Monica Paolillo
Italy
Local time: 18:41
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 28, 2012

Good morning subtitle experts,

I am relatively new to this field even though I've been in the translation industry for 15 years. So far I have subtitled quite a few interviews, documentaries, corporate videos etcetera. I use professional software. I also translate scripts for dubbing.

I was wondering if the subtitling professionals could give me a few tips about cueing.

Is there a standard exposure time for subtitles? I have read a few guidelines on the in
... See more
Good morning subtitle experts,

I am relatively new to this field even though I've been in the translation industry for 15 years. So far I have subtitled quite a few interviews, documentaries, corporate videos etcetera. I use professional software. I also translate scripts for dubbing.

I was wondering if the subtitling professionals could give me a few tips about cueing.

Is there a standard exposure time for subtitles? I have read a few guidelines on the internet but I could only find the minimum exposure (the one that leaves the viewer enough time to read) but nothing about the maximum exposure.

Thank you in advance for any suggestion. I really don't want to do cueing but I have seen it is often requested as an additional service.

Monica
Collapse

Zehavit Ehre
Zehavit Ehre  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 19:41
English to Hebrew
+ ...
subtitling time Feb 28, 2012

Hi Monica,
Subtitle time is usually between 1+ second (for one word) and 7-8 second (for full two lines.
For more info about subtitling you are welcome to watch a lecture I gave (press CC for English subtitles):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfX6JAJVc4k

I am talking about technical constraints from minute 3:30
Good luck,
Zehavit

Monica Paolillo
Monica Paolillo
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you!!! Feb 28, 2012

It was most interesting Good job!

Just Opera
Just Opera
Belgium
French to English
+ ...