Audiovisual Translation at City University (English ->Polish)
Thread poster: dominika_e (X)
dominika_e (X)
dominika_e (X)
Feb 28, 2011

Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate of Translation Studies (English/Polish) and I'm considering an MA course in Audiovisual Translation at City University in London. (Probably needless to say, this would be to prepare me for a career in the audiovisual translation field, mainly subtitling). I'm trying to gather as much information as possible before investing my time and money into the course.

I would like to hear from:

1. People who had attended the course in a
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate of Translation Studies (English/Polish) and I'm considering an MA course in Audiovisual Translation at City University in London. (Probably needless to say, this would be to prepare me for a career in the audiovisual translation field, mainly subtitling). I'm trying to gather as much information as possible before investing my time and money into the course.

I would like to hear from:

1. People who had attended the course in any language combination. Any comments? What I'm particularly interested in is how helpful the course is in putting your foot in the industry door etc..

2. Translators working in the audiovisual industry in my language pair (English into Polish). I'll be happy to hear from anyone who's currently working in the field in London - do you find it easy/hard to find work? Do you do it full-time or as an additional income source? I realize there are a lot of factors in play but please do give me some indication on the realities of the job market (I'm writing this in English in case the information is useful for other users).

Thank you,
Dominika
Collapse

Przemek Kalemba
Przemek Kalemba  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:10
Member (2011)
English to Polish
+ ...
Not as easy as it seems... Jun 22, 2011