Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Help: my computer was hacked and I already lost a big client!
Thread poster: Federica Masante
Federica Masante
Federica Masante  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:21
Italian to English
+ ...
Feb 19, 2012

Hi all,

I am experiencing a living nightmare and am well and truly at my wit's end.
I have had reports of suspicious activity from my gmail account and I believe my laptop was hacked into a few times recently. I am no IT expert so I really don't know the ins and outs of it but what I do know is that someone definitely went into my gmail account (which is the one I use for work with all my business contacts). I received emails that looked like I had sent them to myself; and wh
... See more
Hi all,

I am experiencing a living nightmare and am well and truly at my wit's end.
I have had reports of suspicious activity from my gmail account and I believe my laptop was hacked into a few times recently. I am no IT expert so I really don't know the ins and outs of it but what I do know is that someone definitely went into my gmail account (which is the one I use for work with all my business contacts). I received emails that looked like I had sent them to myself; and when I’d log into my account, there were “new” emails that had already been opened. My laptop started running slowly. Some of my programs and data were deleted. A few times a box would pop up that said someone else was sharing my IP address. A few times the cursor would move around on the screen on its own. One time, the cursor clicked on “Start” and then “Turn off computer.” I have a wireless setup.
If someone had hacked or gained unauthorised access into my laptop, would the emails they send look like they came from my laptop, with IP address, router and modem? Is that really possible?