Thread poster: birdfree
birdfree
birdfree
China
Local time: 20:54
Chinese to English
+ ...
Sep 8, 2014

I am a freelance translator. Some of my clients ask me to "edit" an article, and some ask me to "proofread" and some ask me to "review". I am always confused about the three terms: "editing", "proofreading" and "reviewing". What is the difference between them? And which one is higher in price?

Thank very much!

Alejandro Alcaraz Sintes
Alejandro Alcaraz Sintes
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
differences Sep 8, 2014

The following link might be helpful: http://www.bookmasters.com/blog/copyediting-proofreading-similar-yet-different/.
Regards.
Alejandro

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:54
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
This might interest you Sep 8, 2014

This will provide you with all the information regarding the differences / prices between the two different revision processes.

http://www.proz.com/translator-training/course/7736-the_difference_between_proofreading_and_editing

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:54
Dutch to English
+ ...
Ask your client Sep 8, 2014

I would ask your client to tell you exactly what they expect from you, as different people use these terms differently. They may have a set of guidelines for their checkers - some of my clients do.

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Check with each client for each job Sep 8, 2014

This topic has been discussed several times in this forum, and will be discussed again!

Attempts have been made to set out some definitions in the Wiki on this site:
See more
This topic has been discussed several times in this forum, and will be discussed again!

Attempts have been made to set out some definitions in the Wiki on this site:
http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Category:Art_and_craft_of_translation_and_interpreting