Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: As a freelancer, my retirement plan consists of:
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Apr 26, 2021

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "As a freelancer, my retirement plan consists of:".

View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 19:57
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
A combination Apr 26, 2021

I have no intention of retiring from translation any time soon as long as my health allows me to do it. I (re)-started freelancing when I retired from my in-house position in 2006 and since then I have been receiving a pension from the European Commission. Besides that, I have some savings and I’m affiliated to a private pension fund.

Muriel Vasconcellos

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
EVery day Apr 26, 2021

ProZ.com Staff wrote:

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "As a freelancer, my retirement plan consists of:".

View the poll results »

I retire every day. To my bed.

[Edited at 2021-04-26 11:43 GMT]

Baran Keki
Alice Crisan
Vanda Nissen
Angie Garbarino
Josephine Cassar

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:57
German to English
Buying lottery tickets Apr 26, 2021

Have you ever met a retired translator? I haven't. Over the past 20 years I've had reports of colleagues being found dead at their keyboards.
My mentor worked until he went into hospice at age 84. I hope to avoid that fate.
With DJT gone, I don't see much of a future in sticking with Russian junk bonds.

Kay Denney
Kay Denney  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 20:57
French to English
. Apr 26, 2021

I don't exactly plan to retire. I hope I'll continue to get interesting work. Once I'm entitled to my pension, I'd like to scale back, and only take on the truly interesting stuff.