Off topic: Are there 'seasonal' cycles to freelance translating that you've noticed?
Thread poster: Will Volny
Will Volny
Will Volny  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:44
Member (2018)
Czech to English
+ ...
Nov 14, 2018

I hope I've posted in the right section for a 'this is a puzzlement' sort of question. I am new to Proz and reacquainting myself with the world of freelance translating. I wonder if any of you might have noticed any cyclical or seasonal nature to the number of translations you do throughout the year. I had had a killer September and October, but almost a 'dead' November. In my previous work there were definite seasonal changes, but I wouldn't think that translating (technical-scientific docum... See more
I hope I've posted in the right section for a 'this is a puzzlement' sort of question. I am new to Proz and reacquainting myself with the world of freelance translating. I wonder if any of you might have noticed any cyclical or seasonal nature to the number of translations you do throughout the year. I had had a killer September and October, but almost a 'dead' November. In my previous work there were definite seasonal changes, but I wouldn't think that translating (technical-scientific documents) would be seasonal. I'd welcome your sharing of your experiences in this regard.Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:44
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Unpredictable Nov 14, 2018

I've been keeping a "translation jobs pattern" file since 2008. I update it every day. There's no identifiable pattern except for obvious lulls e.g. national holidays, plus Christmas and Easter and, in the case of my Italian clients, the whole of August and half of September.

Apart from that, there's no obvious pattern; and with a fairly wide range of regular clients, it's impossible to predict when I'm going to be in a "Feast" or "Famine" period.

However my "translatio
... See more