Problems with Metatexis for Word (version 3.0)
Thread poster: dochartach
dochartach
dochartach
Local time: 01:29
Nov 8, 2010

I'm fairly new to translation software. I had been using a free version of Metatexis lite for around 6 months. I liked the layout and the fact that that source segments could be viewed alongside translated segments. I didn't really utilise many features of the translation software. I decided to trial the newest version and to try to utilise the package more fully. I had a termbase I wanted to use and I wanted to try out the alignment tools.
Version 3.0 seems less stable than the lite versi
... See more
I'm fairly new to translation software. I had been using a free version of Metatexis lite for around 6 months. I liked the layout and the fact that that source segments could be viewed alongside translated segments. I didn't really utilise many features of the translation software. I decided to trial the newest version and to try to utilise the package more fully. I had a termbase I wanted to use and I wanted to try out the alignment tools.
Version 3.0 seems less stable than the lite version I'm used to.

I went through the usual steps in preparing my document for translation however, I specified the folder where metatexis was to create the separate metatexis version of my word file, however, on finishing work for the day Metatexis did not create a separate file but merely saved the file under it's own name with the changes implemented. I did not worry as I had a backup.
I picked up where I left off the second day and things seemed to be working well - it's a bit slow but I put that down to the size of my term base c. 190,000 entries??.