RE: Metatexis query - glossary/T/Database
Thread poster: RachelG
RachelG
RachelG  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:58
German to English
Oct 18, 2008

Hi all!
I hope I have put this question in the right place! I am a student on a Diploma/MA in Translation. We are exploring different (and cheap or free!) software tools.

I am finding my way around Metatexis which seems pretty intuitive. I am trying to compile vocab into the Translation Database (TDB) (is this the Glossary also?- they seem to be the same thing..). My source text is German and target is English. I cannot add umlauts etc to the German words.. I know how to add u
... See more
Hi all!
I hope I have put this question in the right place! I am a student on a Diploma/MA in Translation. We are exploring different (and cheap or free!) software tools.

I am finding my way around Metatexis which seems pretty intuitive. I am trying to compile vocab into the Translation Database (TDB) (is this the Glossary also?- they seem to be the same thing..). My source text is German and target is English. I cannot add umlauts etc to the German words.. I know how to add umlauts etc in a Word document. My question is: do I create the Glossary in Word/Excel and then 'import' it into the TDB of Metatexis?..
many thanks, Rachel
Collapse

Translation-Pro
Translation-Pro  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:58
English to German
+ ...
Use the +buttons Oct 19, 2008

Hi Rachel,

Have you tried this:
Open your German document, select the German word (source) you want to add, click on the yellow +button in the menu, then select the English term (target) and click on the blue +button. You can also select the German word, click on the yellow +button, then click on the white +button and type in your English translation.

Hope this helps!

Christa

[Edited at 2008-10-19 17:55]

Spiros Doikas
Spiros Doikas  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:58
Member (2002)
English to Greek
+ ...
Excel Oct 28, 2008