Off topic: Llithuanian keyboard layout for mobile phone app
Thread poster: RichardPerry
Mar 18, 2011

Hi,

Apologies for posting in English.

I am working on a multi-lingual mobile phone app that will support Lithuanian and I am currently looking at some keyboard designs. Since I have very little knowledge of Lithuanian and limited access to native Lithuanian speakers, I thought it might be useful to get feedback about different Lithuanian keyboards from this forum.

I have uploaded four different Lithuanian k
... See more
Hi,

Apologies for posting in English.

I am working on a multi-lingual mobile phone app that will support Lithuanian and I am currently looking at some keyboard designs. Since I have very little knowledge of Lithuanian and limited access to native Lithuanian speakers, I thought it might be useful to get feedback about different Lithuanian keyboards from this forum.

I have uploaded four different Lithuanian keyboard layouts here:
http://i.imgur.com/6h760.png

A bit about the layouts:
1) This is the 4-row layout (based on the standard QWERTY) that I understand to be the most popularly used Lithuanian desktop keyboard layout.

2) This is based on QWERTY too. The Lithuanian vowels ą, ę, ė, į, ų, and ū have been placed on the right of the keyboard. The Lithuanian consonants č, š and ž are on the c, s and z keys respectively.

3) This is the Lithuanian standard layout, which I understand is not as popular as layout 1.

4) This is the Lithuanian standard keyboard, modified slightly to save space and to match the QWERTY keys.

Bear in mind that the keyboard size will be the same for all layouts -- only the key sizes will differ. This means that if I choose layout 1, the keys will be shorter and squarer than layouts 2 and 4, whose keys would be taller and narrower.