Off topic: over-painted canvas...or ?
Thread poster: Morten Olesen
Morten Olesen
Morten Olesen
Denmark
Local time: 11:19
English to Danish
Feb 17, 2011

I am a Danish artist who like many artists recycles, ie paints canvases/paintings over if they are no good; is it ok to term those paintings 'over-painted' or is there a better adjective, do you think... See more
I am a Danish artist who like many artists recycles, ie paints canvases/paintings over if they are no good; is it ok to term those paintings 'over-painted' or is there a better adjective, do you think ?

www.mortensgallery.com
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000728951709#!/profile.php?id=100000728951709
Collapse

Raúl Casanova
Raúl Casanova  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 07:19
English to Spanish
In memoriam
paint over Feb 17, 2011

or painted-over could be more proper, but you'd better wait for the advice of a native speaker of English.
See more
or painted-over could be more proper, but you'd better wait for the advice of a native speaker of English.
http://davidsandumart.posterous.com/a-painted-over-canvas-over-the-rainbow-david
http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/archive/index.php/t-439262.html
Collapse

texjax DDS PhD
texjax DDS PhD  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:19
Member (2006)
English to Italian
+ ...
Why not simply... Feb 17, 2011

...recycled canvas?

Not a fancy term, but this is an accurate description and it will certainly capture the interest of those art lovers with a "green soul".

PS. I like your paintings!

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
overpainted Feb 17, 2011

If you have "over" as a modifier/prefix of an adjective, it implies that something is done excessively, over the optimal limit ( e.g. overpaid, overworked, overstaffed etc).. so I think you are twisting the meaning here.

IMO, what Raul said sounds correct and appropriate for your context.

Morten Olesen
Morten Olesen
Denmark