Sabine Akabayov, PhD
Israel
Local time: 22:27
Member (2011)
English to German
+ ...
Mar 28, 2014

First, sorry for posting in English.

My family is returning to Israel in the summer after 7 years in the US. Translation was not my primary occupation (I'm a scientist), but now I want to work as a freelancer full time. I know that I have to register with Bituach Leumi and open tax files. Do you have any good resources (links/books) with tips for freelancers (especially taxes)?
When I register, do I have to have a business name or would I register under my own name?
Ca
... See more
First, sorry for posting in English.

My family is returning to Israel in the summer after 7 years in the US. Translation was not my primary occupation (I'm a scientist), but now I want to work as a freelancer full time. I know that I have to register with Bituach Leumi and open tax files. Do you have any good resources (links/books) with tips for freelancers (especially taxes)?
When I register, do I have to have a business name or would I register under my own name?
Can I deduct business expenses on my tax return that were incurred before registering (I was thinking of buying software/dictionaries/setting up my website here in the US before moving to Israel)?
I'm grateful for any tips you might have for me.
Thanks and Shabbat Shalom!!
Collapse

Daniel Rabinovich
Daniel Rabinovich  Identity Verified
Israel
Member (2018)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Contact me Mar 31, 2014

You only need to select a name for your business if you give invoices (עוסק מורשה). If your income is low you can be an עוסק פטור. You can select any name.

You can contact me if you have any questions on starting your business.
For some questions you'll have to consult an accountant (deducting business expenses incurred abroad). Another option is the free consultation given by the tax authority before the tax report is submitted.

[Edited at 2014-03-31 19:00 GMT]

Asaf Beeri
Asaf Beeri  Identity Verified
Israel