Thread poster: EUyounglady
EUyounglady
EUyounglady
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:56
Korean to English
+ ...
May 27, 2014

I've been a translator for quite some years now and I've recently discovered that I'm pregnant. I'm posting here because I'd like to know if anyone has continued working shortly after having a baby. I know it's going to be hard, I just wonder if anyone (single mums?) could share their stories on just how hard it would be. I live in a country where abortion is legal. However I don't think I'll be able to persuade myself to do that, just thinking about it makes me feel guilty & sad.

I
... See more
I've been a translator for quite some years now and I've recently discovered that I'm pregnant. I'm posting here because I'd like to know if anyone has continued working shortly after having a baby. I know it's going to be hard, I just wonder if anyone (single mums?) could share their stories on just how hard it would be. I live in a country where abortion is legal. However I don't think I'll be able to persuade myself to do that, just thinking about it makes me feel guilty & sad.

I have been wanting a baby for a few years (biological urge), but this pregnancy wasn't planned because rationally we just can't have a baby. Initially I was cautiously happy, now, a week after discovering I'm pregnant, I'm scared out of my mind.

I won't become a single mum, because I live together with my lovely husband, who is equally scared by the idea. We depend on my income, which is sufficient right now. So my problem wouldn't necessarily be money, it would be time (indirectly, that's money). I wouldn't be able to stop working, I could probably take 2 weeks off without jeopardizing client relations & running out of money.

I know a newborn baby needs its mother all the time, with feeding every three hours (right?), parents of newborns always seem thrilled but permanently exhausted.