Thread poster: Alex Stratikis
Alex Stratikis
Alex Stratikis
United States
Local time: 07:43
Japanese to English
Sep 29, 2019

Dear all,

I am a recent graduate with an BA Degree in Japanese, who has several years studying/volunteering both in Japan and abroad. I am now looking to secure a full-time opportunity with a company in Japanese to English Translation/Localization.
Despite this, I am currently having a difficult time securing any entry level Japanese to English translation opportunities. The majority of relevant jobs are in Japan/US. Either of which I would consider, but securing a visa is p
... See more
Dear all,

I am a recent graduate with an BA Degree in Japanese, who has several years studying/volunteering both in Japan and abroad. I am now looking to secure a full-time opportunity with a company in Japanese to English Translation/Localization.
Despite this, I am currently having a difficult time securing any entry level Japanese to English translation opportunities. The majority of relevant jobs are in Japan/US. Either of which I would consider, but securing a visa is proving near impossible. The second issue being relevant experience. These two factors combined are proving to be a real headache.

I was offered several entry jobs in California, but they wouldn't take things further once they found out they would have to sponsor me. As for Japan, it seems like the majority of applications won't even consider you if you aren't already residing in Japan/possess a work visa.
The catch-22 with relevant experience is that most companies expect however many years of experience in order to be considered for the role, but I don't see how I can overcome this until I find somewhere that is actually willing to hire me as a graduate.