A question for experienced translators
Thread poster: Gianluca Reale
Gianluca Reale
Gianluca Reale
Argentina
Spanish to English
May 17, 2016

Hi! I'm a student of translation and I have a few doubts about the career. Any comments are appreciated.

1) How long does it take (on average) to start getting translation jobs regularly?
2) Is it fairly common to have problems with the companies that offer you the jobs?
3) What areas offer the most amount of jobs? (Legal, Medical...)

Thank you!

Jack Doughty
Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:59
Russian to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Answering your three points: May 18, 2016

1) How long does it take (on average) to start getting translation jobs regularly? // How long is a piece of string? It depends how well qualified the new translator is, whether he/she has qualifications in fields other than languages how good at self-marketing, etc. etc.

2) Is it fairly common to have problems with the companies that offer you the jobs? //Judging from the posts that appear in forums here, you might think it is uncommon not to, but in fact I would say there are far
... See more
1) How long does it take (on average) to start getting translation jobs regularly? // How long is a piece of string? It depends how well qualified the new translator is, whether he/she has qualifications in fields other than languages how good at self-marketing, etc. etc.

2) Is it fairly common to have problems with the companies that offer you the jobs? //Judging from the posts that appear in forums here, you might think it is uncommon not to, but in fact I would say there are far more companies that do not cause problems than companies that do.

3) What areas offer the most amount of jobs? (Legal, Medical...) I should think commercial correspondence, including contracts, tender bids etc., is a likely candidate, but I don't know for sure.