Finding Translation Agencies without a Degree
Thread poster: jertrud
jertrud
jertrud
United States
Local time: 15:23
Spanish to English
Apr 17, 2016

I'm new to the business and looking for translation agencies to give my information. The few I've contacted have yet to get back to me, or don't offer work in my pair.

What kind of agencies accept translators with no degree nor certification? I heard that there are some that give tests to people without these things, but I can't find any. The agencies registered with the ATA mostly seem to want certs.

Should I mainly be applying to agencies in source language countries,
... See more
I'm new to the business and looking for translation agencies to give my information. The few I've contacted have yet to get back to me, or don't offer work in my pair.

What kind of agencies accept translators with no degree nor certification? I heard that there are some that give tests to people without these things, but I can't find any. The agencies registered with the ATA mostly seem to want certs.

Should I mainly be applying to agencies in source language countries, i.e. Spanish-speaking countries? I feel like they would have more demand for SP>EN.
Collapse

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 21:23
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
You're on the way Apr 18, 2016

Everything counts in translation, especially the fact that you are studying and almost have a language qualification.
It is not strictly necessary, but in practice you will be expected to have a qualification of some kind.

You say you already have a Bachelor of Science (spelt like that, no 's ) in Commerce and Business Administration, and that will be very useful, so highlight it. Lots of translations come precisely in that field. It may even be more useful in practice
... See more
Everything counts in translation, especially the fact that you are studying and almost have a language qualification.