Andre Borges
Andre Borges  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 13, 2016

Dear Forum Members,

Recently I decided to take the plunge as a FT Freelance translator. Formerly, I worked as an in-house translator twice in Chile, first in an Im/Ex company and later as an on-site interpreter and translator in a factory, just last year. I've always had good experiences doing translations, freelance or otherwise, in Chile/Argentina, but in the United States I've always found it extremely difficult. My language pairs are ESP to ENG, CHIN to ENG, and ENG/CHIN to ESP
... See more
Dear Forum Members,

Recently I decided to take the plunge as a FT Freelance translator. Formerly, I worked as an in-house translator twice in Chile, first in an Im/Ex company and later as an on-site interpreter and translator in a factory, just last year. I've always had good experiences doing translations, freelance or otherwise, in Chile/Argentina, but in the United States I've always found it extremely difficult. My language pairs are ESP to ENG, CHIN to ENG, and ENG/CHIN to ESP when my arm is twisted to do it. Currently I am only advertising translations into English.

After reading a book about translating in the US market, I started to send out resumes to agencies and quoting rates. I've quoted $0.06 to $0.05, done some tests, and passed the tests, but I've still not been paid for anything. I need to pay my bills. What am I doing wrong? I've sent out about 200 resumes so far. I know I need to increase that to at least 600. When can I expect that these companies that have "hired" me will actually send me work to do, and then pay for it? It seems there is a large translator community that exists here, so it seems it is possible, but I have not quite figured out the trick yet, at all.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I realize you have no reason to help out.

Thank you,
Andre
Collapse

Rita Translator
Rita Translator  Identity Verified
Germany