Pavel Grebenkov
Pavel Grebenkov
Canada
Local time: 13:07
English to Russian
+ ...
Feb 10, 2016

Hello everyone!

I'm a complete newbie in the business of freelance translation. It seems that one can't even dream of making a living as a freelancer without having some expertise in CAT and other software tools that may come in handy. I'd like to ask then, what would a beginner, such as myself, need to get started in this business. I don't mean to ask for lists of specific software companies, as I'm sure different people will have their favourites. I would like to know at a more g
... See more
Hello everyone!

I'm a complete newbie in the business of freelance translation. It seems that one can't even dream of making a living as a freelancer without having some expertise in CAT and other software tools that may come in handy. I'd like to ask then, what would a beginner, such as myself, need to get started in this business. I don't mean to ask for lists of specific software companies, as I'm sure different people will have their favourites. I would like to know at a more general level, I guess, what set of software tools (e.g. machine translation, terminology....formatting....etc) I would need in order to be able to work as a freelance translator? But, if you'd also like to mention some good examples of specific software companies that offer some of these tools, please feel free to do so, by all means. Thanks very much!!
Collapse

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 20:07
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
MS Word, MS Excel Feb 11, 2016

You should have a decent computer, large screen, printer and an ergonomic working environment. High-speed internet. Microsoft Office or at least Word and Excel. Reliable email-service.
Secondly I would suggest getting Abbyy Finereader. One of the bigger CAT-applications like SDL Trados, MemoQ, Wordfast etc. will get you more customers. Membership in Proz.com is very useful.
Learn to set your prices.