Hopelessly confused about Total Recall and TMs
Thread poster: Sabsi
Sabsi
Sabsi
Austria
Dec 12, 2019

Hi everyone. I feel like quite an idiot, but I just cannot get CafeTran to work the way I expect it to. I used SDL Trados for 11 years before moving to a new company, and I've kind of been thrown into the deep end on this. I've read through all the help topics, but I don't know what to do.

What I'd like to do: I want to have one TM that I read from and write to. That's it. I'm a small-scale translator. Please help.

You can skip this, but my issue: With CafeTran,
... See more
Hi everyone. I feel like quite an idiot, but I just cannot get CafeTran to work the way I expect it to. I used SDL Trados for 11 years before moving to a new company, and I've kind of been thrown into the deep end on this. I've read through all the help topics, but I don't know what to do.

What I'd like to do: I want to have one TM that I read from and write to. That's it. I'm a small-scale translator. Please help.

You can skip this, but my issue: With CafeTran, I don't know where my TUs are being saved. I have 10 different TMX files loaded, coming from all kinds of different sources (that I'd like to merge), but I have no clue if my new TUs are being saved to any of them. The only place the documentation refers to is the Project TM, which I don't really see the point of. Can't I choose a different place for them to land? I want to be able to use all my TUs for every project.

Furthermore, for the longest time, I didn't realize that I had to manually save the Project TM to Total Recall everytime I close a project, so I guess those TUs were just never imported? But if I open a project just with the Total Recall TM checked on the dashboard, it doesn't show me things that I literally just translated, even if I did import the last Project TM. If I do a concordance search on a term, I can click on TM as much as I want and nothing shows up.